About Zimbabwe


Zimbabwe is a landlocked country in Southern Africa with an area of 390,580 square kilometres and a population of about 12 973 808 million. The country is bordered on all sides by other countries. Zambia lies to the northwest with the Zambezi River and Victoria Falls forming the border. Mozambique lies to the northeast with its border formed by the Eastern Highlands. Botswana lies to the southwest and South Africa to the south (its border formed by the Limpopo River).   The country is divided into 10 administrative provinces and 62 districts. The capital city is Harare and other major cities include Bulawayo, Gweru, Kadoma, Kwekwe, Masvingo and Mutare. The population of Zimbabwe is estimated to be 13.061 million (2012 Census) with 52% being female. Two thirds of the population is below the age of 25. The major ethnic groups are Shona and Ndebele

Basic Facts

Total Area 399,757 sq. km
Land Area 386,670 sq. km
Water 4,087 sq. km
Population 11.903 million (2011)
Location Situated in Central Southern Africa, between the Limpopo and the Zambezi, Zimbabwe is landlocked, bounded by Zambia, Mozambique, South Africa and Botswana

Economic Overview

Zimbabwe has enormous potential given its generous endowment of natural resources, an existing stock of public infrastructure, and comparatively well skilled human resources. The country is a well-known source of gold, platinum group of metals (PGMs), nickel, and chrome, and could potentially grow into an international mining hub. Zimbabwe boasts several tourist attractions which include the Victoria falls, which is amongst the Seven Natural Wonders of the World. Moreover, Zimbabwe is taking steps to realize its new goal of being “open for business” including amendments to the Indigenisation and Economic Empowerment Act to enable greater domestic investment and foreign direct investment inflows.